Opened in 1927 by HRH Princess Mary the clinic was a gift to the town by Agnes Russell in memory of her two brothers.
The building was designed by James Steel Maitland, who also designed the Arnotts Store in Gauze Street as well as several notable buildings in the High Street. The shell of the building was constructed using concrete, one of the first building to use this method, with the skin being sandstone. The sculpures on the outside of the building were designed by architectural sculpture Archie Dawson who used his wife, Isobel, and sons as the models for the main sculpture above the entrance.
The clinic served mainly the children of the town but in 2011 the Health Board decided it was too expensive to keep running and put the iconic building up for sale.